Piggies; Quilted Applique Mini Quilt

Piglet.MiniQuilt.2

As I continue to postpone my larger wall hanging project, I made this mini wall hanging with some piggy shapes I sketched. It didn’t turn out exactly how I imagined it in my mind, but happy it turned out okay after many alterations and additions (i.e.: some frustration fits).

Binding: I have always bound with the single fold method and struggled with making the border looking uniform (most likely a result of my uneven ironing!) This time I tried the double fold method and wow did that make a difference.  It was so much easier to iron a strip of fabric in half than ironing each edge to center then in half again.

I used a tutorial I found online:  http://www.sew4home.com/tips-resources/sewing-tips-tricks/complete-step-step-binding-quilts-throws

The written steps and pictures were so clear, made sense and worked exactly as they were explained.  It was so easy to follow and my binding turned out better than it ever has (not saying there isn’t room for improvement of course :)   On that note, any binding tips anyone wants to share are truly appreciated :)

8 thoughts on “Piggies; Quilted Applique Mini Quilt

  1. I think this is really cute! How did you make the flowers? You know, how they name the different methods of binding has always confused me. Your binding is looking good.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! Yes, it is confusing how it’s named. In general binding confuses me! I always have to think really hard when I do the corners🤔 The flowers are just little bits of fabric I hand sewed on.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I like this little mini quilt because it is 3 dimensional. The flowers are really cute AND your binding looks just fine! I am going to practice tacking down my bindings with my sewing machine instead of doing them by hand. This will take some practice and I think I will start with a mini quilt or two.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi, thank you so much for your nice words, I appreciate it! I Have been practicing machine sewing both sides of binding on mini quilts too. Practice and patience required, right?! 😋

      Like

Hi! Thank you for visiting and I would love to hear from you!

