Cawing Pumpkin Patch

I really can’t explain why, but I love it when I see a big old crow and he goes “Caw, Caw.” Then he may strut around a bit and say it again; this always makes me laugh.

So when I decided to make a Fall table mat, I knew it had to have some of these charming cawing birds.

The applique pieces are my own drawings, I do love to doodle. For some ideas, I googled a few key words  including “garden signs.” When I saw a photo of a “No Crows” garden post, I knew I had to add one of my own to my little pumpkin patch!

image

I did zig zag stitching around the pumpkin applique pieces and raw edge for the birds and sign. I also straight stitched around the outside of each piece. To finish, I free motion quilted a loopy pattern on the bottom for a vine-like feeling and a kind of meandering  pattern for the open space, to look like the clouds in an Autumn sky.

I drew the big crow’s feet (talons?) and sign lettering directly on the fabric with a Sharpie pen.

Oh and I made the big fella a hat that I forgot to applique on. Now I am not sure if I want to, what do you think?

image

Autumn was late this year, as we had a veritable September heat wave here in Pennsylvania, with temperatures into the 90’s for many days in a row.  As much as I love the thought of a postponed winter, a recent cool crisp day was welcomed. Yesterday it was a sunny 69F and a perfect day to go to the Bloomsburg Fair.

I found this “Scared Crow” roosting amongst the Scarecrow contest exhibit. Dorothy deservedly took a ribbon, but the crow won my heart!

“Scared Crow”

Crow info..

  • A group of crows is called a murder.
  • “A crow’s brain is the size of a human thumb, huge relative to its body, putting their intelligence on par with primates and allowing them to solve complex problems. –CBS News
  • Crows have been known to have a penchant for shiny sparkily items, and have been reported to making off with coins, metal bits and even family jewels! 💍

Hoping all is well in your corner of the world.

~Abbie 🌟

22 thoughts on “Cawing Pumpkin Patch

  1. This is really cute, Abbie! I like him without the hat. I’m a little attached to crows too. We have a joke in our family that I have pet crows that follow me wherever I go. There always seems to be two hanging around, cackling at me. Haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your table mat is so cute. Love the hat but I like him better ‘bare head’. We have a lot of crows in our area and when Sami, The Wonder Dog, was little I was so afraid one would come down and grab her when she went out to pee. Now that she is 32 pounds that is no longer a problem. :)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Reminds me of the poem by Emily Dickinson

    Fame is a fickle food
    Upon a shifting plate
    Whose table once a Guest, but not
    The second time is set,

    Whose crumbs the crows inspect,
    And with ironic caw
    Flap past it to the farmer’s corn
    Men eat of it and die.

    Abbie, the crow table mat is so cute!
    I like the hat on the crow.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I loved reading this poem Chela. It reminded me of the Emily Dickinson book of poems I had as a teen and read obsessively. Next library trip, I will be checking it out. Another poem of hers with a bird metaphor that I love;
      “Hope” is the thing with feathers –
      That perches in the soul –
      And sings the tune without the words –
      And never stops – at all –

      And sweetest – in the Gale – is heard –
      And sore must be the storm –
      That could abash the little Bird
      That kept so many warm –

      I’ve heard it in the chillest land –
      And on the strangest Sea –
      Yet – never – in Extremity,
      It asked a crumb – of me.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. “Hope”…my favorite poem…and the inspiration for one of the quilts I made.
        I have Emily Dickinson’s poems on my Kindle and read them frequently.
        I love reading poetry. Sometimes I write poems. My students and I would have poetry reading and writing sessions as we sat under the oak trees on our school grounds.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Abbie: I love your design! I have a friend who “hosts” a murder of crows near her home. They have been known to steal her groceries from the back of her van. They are particularly partial to peanut M&M’s.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love your crow quilt, Abbie! The crows look so expressive! (Personally, I like the big crow better without the hat.) That ‘No Crows’ sign is a lovely touch. How big is the quilt? Can’t wait to see more of your designs. x

    Liked by 1 person

Hi! Thank you for visiting and I would love to hear from you!

